About Me

My photo
This blog reflects on soccer qua football all over the world. The blog has a specific investment in attractive, attacking football and, as such, focuses on Brazil, the most emphatic historical exponent of the beautiful game.

Monday, January 9, 2012

Neymar Wins 2011 FIFA Puskas Award

Santos striker Neymar added the FIFA Puskas Award 2011 to his growing list of honors and accomplishments. Neymar beat Lionel Messi and Wayne Rooney for the award for the greatest goal of the year based on votes from more than 1.3 million FIFA.com users. Neymar scored his sensational goal in a nine goal thriller against Flamengo last July by picking up the ball on the left, overcoming two Flamengo players, playing a one two with a Santos teammate and then fending off two more defenders before sliding as he put the ball in the back of the net. Neymar described his goal as “the best goal I’ve ever scored" even though Flamengo won 5-4. Turkish midfielder Hamit Altintop won the FIFA Puskas Award in 2o10.

No comments:

Post a Comment